General Notes

I am going to start working a part-time job to complement my earnings from my full-time job so that I will save as much money as possible before I start school this fall.  This means that my postings will be less frequent than they have been.  But I have been known to go on a tear, so who knows?  I am only going to keep this going until the first week of August, anyhow.  I know you’re all sorely disappointed. 

1) I think it’s ironic that Braden Looper got the win for the Cardinals pulling it out this afternoon.  He surrendered the lead to a Rich Aurilia double in the 8th after Quinten McCracken’s homer off of Wainwright.  Why is Looper always grinning?  What’s he got to be happy about? 

2) When La Russa needed a hit today, he reached down and got Jason Marquis, who promptly stroked a single to set the stage for Pujols’ afternoon drama.  Jason "Slash" Marquis is also the guy La Russa goes to when he needs a fresh set of legs to run for a guy when they need a run. 

3) Today’s STL Post-Dispatch featured a column that mentioned the Cardinals need for an outfielder.  The "cavalry" is on the way, in Larry Bigbie!

4) I’m checking out the LA/San Fran game as we speak.  I guess Bonds has set the stage for his retirement due to complications in his elbow.  He said that if he has to have another procedure, he’s done.  But let’s be honest: It’s best for all if he retires, the sooner the better.  Before you could make the argument that the Giants benefitted from his production, but he’s not producing anymore. 

5) Let’s take a quick look around the majors…the Mets are off to a great start.  And they’re STILL the second story coming out of NY….Andruw Jones made a great catch in today’s game against the Pads…he also had a bomb.  The A’s are a game under .500.  Hardly running away with the division.  No team seems to want the AL West.  One team that could, in theory make some noise is Seattle.  They looked pretty decent when I saw them the other night.  They’ve got that hotshot pitching prospect coming up who could be pretty good.  All they need is Jarrod Washburn to pan out and to find some more pitching, both of the bullpen and starting variety.  They say that Dontrelle Willis and Miguel Cabrera are on the block.  Dollars to Donut the Mets make a major push for one of either Cabrera or Willis, or both.

6) From what I’ve seen, The Cubs look pretty good.  I like their style of play; I like Juan Pierre at the top of the order.  You can’t do better than Derek Lee at first, both as a player and as a clubhouse guy, from the things I’ve read. 

7) How is Houston in first place?  They were supposed to have nothing left in the tank after Bagwell’s arm fell off, Clemens semi-retired and Craig Biggio turned 803 years old.  One big answer: Lance Berkman.  I shouldn’t have ripped on that guy for so long.  The reason that I hated Lance Berkman, was because my impression was that he was a buffoon.  I mean, what kind of an idiot ruins his knee playing football in the offseason?  Any time I’ve ever seen an interview with him, he’s always had a blank expression on his face.  But he did go to Rice, a school of the highest caliber, so that’s good enough for me.   

2 comments

  1. Reid

    You’re an NL Man, I’m cool with that. I still don’t think the Cubs will come away with it this year, and I’m sure the Mariners won’t. And Houston? With that age, they’ve gotta break down sometime.

    -Reid

    http://reid.mlblogs.com

  2. Jeremy

    Reid,

    Thanks for the comments. I appreciate them.

    You’re right; I love the NL. I love the entire NL Central; and I love the Braves and the Phillies.

Leave a Reply

